Decluttering Tips for the New Year

Every New Year, I get into this kick to start decluttering and to start the new year organized. I have a few tips that I’ve learned/used and wanted to share!

I always have a thousand questions I ask myself about items:

  • Why am I keeping this? why-is-it-do-i
  • Is it broke?
  • Do I really need it for a reason or use?
  • Is it taking up a lot of wasted space?
  • Do I have more than one?

This are just a few of them. I tend to hang onto thing for no reason just because at the time  I got it I thought I desperately needed it for something. I don’t have a lot of space so wasting space for useless items is pathetic in my opinion..need to get better at it.

A few other tips I have are:

  • For closets, I learned to turn my hangers backwards (where the hook is facing you), and then in 6 months, all the ones that you haven’t turned around you get rid of.
  • Odd/Ends, If it has a layer of dust on it, that’s the number one reason to get rid of it.
  • Nail Polish, I tend to buy multiple brands and I always end up buying the same color a lot of times so either I return it or get rid of it. There’s no reason to have multiples of one color…unless I really like it.
  • Social Media, Go through friend lists or who your following and delete those you have communicated or have inactive accounts.

I hope this tips help you in your decluttering!

Chat later!

  • Liz
Leave a Reply

