Hit/Miss DIY Christmas Ornaments

Hey guys! Today’s post is kind of a hit/a miss for DIY Christmas Ornaments. I found the idea on pinterest with the recipe on how to make the ‘Salt Dough’. Here’s the link. 

You will need: 

Flour 

Salt

Water

Plastic Mat or something to roll the dough on

Rolling Pinimg_0252

Cookie Cutters

Paint/Paint Brushes (I couldn’t find a paint brush so I used Q-tips!)

Toothpicks

Ribbon or Jute

The first step is to make the dough. It says you mix 1 cup of flour, 1/2 cup of Salt, and 1/2 cup of luke warm water. I made 2 batches..the first was turned out really good but the second turned out real sticky..so you may need to add more flour.

After I got the dough made..I rolled out my dough and cut different shapes. I didn’thave to flour my mat with the first batch but the second batch I had too. Lastly, before you bake them remember to use a toothpick to make a hole to hang them from.

img_0258

 

 

 

It didn’t give a temp to set your oven at or how long you should bake them. I ended up baking mine at 275 degrees for 30 minutes..then I flipped them and baked for another 30 minutes. They got golden brown and I figured they were done.

img_0261

I let mine cool for a few hours and then painted them! I used light blue, blue, silver and gold. I ended up running out of white ribbon to hang them from so I used some jute/twine for the rest.

img_0265

This wasn’t too difficult and they turned out okay for the most part. I think i’m going to keep the recipe and try it again next year.

Chat later!

  • Liz

 

Leave a Reply

